Biological Consequences of Global Change (BCGC)

An ISZS/IUBS Internation research program

Background

Global change is now one of the most discussed topics in the world. Understanding the impact of global change is extremely important for the sustainable development of human society.

 

Therefore, in 2008, the International Society of Zoological Sciences (ISZS) initiated an international research program, Biological Consequences of Global Change (BCGC). It was first supported by the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). In 2009, BCGC was adopted by the International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS) as a new international research program. In 2012, the program was evaluated highly at IUBS and was considered as the core of IUBS scientific programs. Currently, there are over 20 scientists from Australia, Chile, China, France, India, Norway, Russia, Israel, Germany, South Africa and the United States involved.

 

The focus of the BCGC program is to organize a diverse group of international experts, with expertise in many scientific disciplines, and develop an understanding of the consequences of global change and human activity on evolutionary mechanisms, biological structures, endangered species and biological disasters.

 

The BCGC program provides a platform for scientists around the world to collaborate on topics, such as the impact of global change on biodiversity, ecological infectious diseases, agricultural pests, invasive species and many other topics of interest. The program is expanding its research networks to include more scientists and scientific disciplines from various places around the globe.

 

Goals

Promote understanding of BCGC and improve management of the earth

Promote international collaboration

Promote influence and leadership of IUBS and ISZS through the BCGC program

 

Questions to address

Impact of global change on of biological disasters like disease and pest outbreaks

Impact of global change and its relation to alien species invasion

Impact of global change on abundance and range shifts of endangered species

Impact of global change on community structure and biodiversity of various ecosystems

Nonlinearity and interactions of global change in affecting biological populations

0-9.jpg

 

Action plan for 2013–2015

Program network expansion

·         Attract more scientists and partners

·         Promote program influence and increase research capabilities

Website and database construction

·         Build an open access database

·         Promote data sharing among scientists

International symposia or workshops

·         Organize 2 international symposia or workshops

·         Discuss range shifts of species under global warming

·         Examine biodiversity change due to human disturbance

Publications

·         Publish 2 special issues of BCGC in Integrative Zoology

International training courses

·         Organize 2 international training classes under the theme of BCGC

 

Get involved

To find out more information about how to get your research team involved

·         Visit www.globalzoology.org

·         Or email iszs2@ioz.ac.cn

WORKING GROUPS

 

The ISZS facilitates working groups comprised of researchers and others from across the world.

 

Any member of the ISZS can propose the establishment of a new working group or become a member of an existing group. For each approved group, the ISZS will provide administrative and some financial supports pending to ISZS's financial status. Proposals for new groups always welcome!

 

Terms

2 years which is possible for an extension for another 2-year term pending on their performance assessment by ISZS Executive Committee Members (EC).

 

Existing working groups

  

Researchers

Nation

E-mail

Rodent Biology and Management

Jens Jacob

Germany

jens.jacob@jki.bund.de

Jiqi Lu*

China

roadjq@163.com

Deng Wang

China

wangdeng@cau.edu.cn

Dawei Wang

China

dwwang@ippcaas.cn

Xiaohui Liu

China

lxiaohui2000@163.com;WHWEI@yzu.edu.cn

Wanhong Wei

China

whwei@yzu.edu.cn

Jianghui Bian

China

bjh@nwipb.cas.cn

Jiapeng Qu

China

jpqu@nwipb.cas.cn

Lyn A Hinds

Australia

lyn.hinds@csiro.au

Steve R Belmain*

UK

s.r.belmain@gre.ac.uk

Grant R Singleton

Philippines

g.singleton@irri.org

Charles Krebs

Canada

krebs@zoology.ubc.ca

Yong Wang

China

wangy@isa.ac.cn

Yanming Zhang

China

zhangym@nwipb.cas.cn

Muhammad Mushtaq

Pakistan

mushtaq@uaar.edu.pk

Wildlife Borne Diseases

Hongxuan He*

China

hehx@ioz.ac.cn

Lei Xu

China

xulei@icdc.cn

Chengmin Wang

China

wangcm@ioz.ac.cn

Qiyong Liu

China

liuqiyong@icdc.cn

George Christakos

UK

gchristakos@zju.edu.cn;fchrist@live.unc.edu

Ruifu Yang

China

ruifuyang@gmail.com

Herwig Leirs*

Denmark

herwig.leirs@uantwerpen.be

Kenneth L. Gage

USA

klg0@cdc.gov;KGage@cdc.gov

Bird Evolution

Fumin Lei*

China

leifm@ioz.ac.cn

Yanhua Qu

China

quyh@ioz.ac.cn

Wei Liang

China

liangwei@hainnu.edu.cn

Fasheng Zou

China

zoufs@gdei.gd.cn

Yanyun Zhang

China

zhangyy@bnu.edu.cn

Ping Ding

China

dingping@zju.edu.cn;dingping@zju.edu.cn

Yuehua Sun

China

sunyh@ioz.ac.cn

Xin Lu

China

luxinwh@163.com;luxinwh@163.com

Frank Rheindt

Singapore

dbsrfe@nus.edu.sg

Scott Robinson

USA

srobinson@flmnh.ufl.edu

Per G. P. Ericson

Sweden

per.ericson@nrm.se

Per Alström*

Sweden

Per.Alstrom@artdata.slu.se

Jon Fjeldså

Denmark

jfjeldsaa@snm.ku.dk

Anders Pape Møller

France

anders.moller@u-psud.fr

Invasive Species

Xuan Liu

China

liuxuan@ioz.ac.cn

Min Lu

China

lumin@ioz.ac.cn

Shusheng Liu

China

shshliu@zju.edu.cn

Jianqing Ding

China

dingjianqing@yahoo.com

Alain Roques*

France

alain.roques@orleans.inra.fr

Rebecca Butcher

USA

butcher@chem.ufl.edu

Jianghua Sun*

China

sunjh@ioz.ac.cn

Eco-physiology

Dehua Wang*

China

wangdh@ioz.ac.cn

Xiang Ji

China

xji@mail.hz.zj.cn; jixiang@njnu.edu.cn

Shi-Jian Fu

China

shijianfu9@hotmail.com; shijianfu9@cqnu.edu.cn

Xueying Zhang

China

zhangxy@ioz.ac.cn

Zhijun Zhao

China

zhao73@foxmail.com

Abraham S. Haim*

Israel

ahaim@research.haifa.ac.il

Allan Degen

Israel

degen@bgu.ac.il

Francisco Bozinovic

Chile

fbozinovic@bio.puc.cl

Noga Kronfeld-Schor

Israel

nogaks@tauex.tau.ac.il

Nina Vasilieva

Russia

nyv1@yandex.ru

Fritz Geiser

Australia

fgeiser@une.edu.au

David M. Scantlebury

UK

m.scantlebury@qub.ac.uk

William H. Karasov

USA

wkarasov@wisc.edu

Wei-Guo Du

China

duweiguo@ioz.ac.cn

Jinsong Liu

China

ljs@wzu.edu.cn

Ming Yang

China

yangming@synu.edu.com

Biological Consequences of Global Change

Zhibin Zhang*

China

zhangzb@ioz.ac.cn

Nils Chr. Stenseth*

Norway

n.c.stenseth@ibv.uio.no

Fuwen Wei

China

weifw@ioz.ac.cn

Yiming Li

China

liym@ioz.ac.cn

Xinhai Li

China

lixh@ioz.ac.cn

Guangshun Jiang

China

jgshun@126.com

John Buckeridge

Australia

John.Buckeridge@rmit.edu.au

Yury Yu. Dgebuadze

Russia

yudgeb@gmail.com

Hari C. Sharma

India

h.sharma@cgiar.org

Jürgen Heinze

Germany

Juergen.Heinze@biologie.uni-regensburg.de

Yvon LE MAHO

France

yvon.lemaho@iphc.cnrs.fr

Sarita Maree

South Africa

smaree@zoology.up.ac.za

Anthony Barnosky

USA

barnosky@berkeley.edu

Eric I. Ameca y Juárez

Mexico

eric.ameca08@alumni.imperial.ac.uk

Muhammad Naeem Awan

Pakistan

ajkwildlife@gmail.com

Plant-animal Interactions

Hongmao Zhang*

China

zhanghm@mail.ccnu.edu.cn

Jin Chen

China

cj@xtbg.org.cn

Lin Cao

China

caolin@xtbg.org.cn

Gang Chang

China

snow1178@snnu.edu.cn

Chuan Yan

China

yanchuan@ioz.ac.cn

Chao-Dong ZHU

China

zhucd@ioz.ac.cn; zhucd2005@gmail.com

Xianfeng Yi

China

ympclong@163.com

Zhishu Xiao

China

xiaozs@ioz.ac.cn

Youbin Zhou

China

zhouyb@ibcas.ac.cn

Shuangquan Huang

China

sqhuang@whu.edu.cn

Marcel Holyoak*

USA

maholyoak@ucdavis.edu

Kevin Chase Burns

New Zealand

kevin.burns@vuw.ac.nz

Michael A Steele

USA

Michael.steele@wilkes.edu

Patrick Jansen

Netherlands

patrick.jansen@wur.nl

Caprinae Genomics

Meng-Hua Li*

China

menghua.li@ioz.ac.cn

Hans Lenstra

Netherlands

J.A.Lenstra@uu.nl

Olivier Hanotte

Ethiopia

o.hanotte@cgiar.org

Paolo A. Marsan

Italy

paolo.ajmone@unicatt.it

Michael W. Bruford

UK

BrufordMW@Cardiff.ac.uk

Juha Kantanen

Finland

juha.kantanen@luke.fi

Hugh T. Blair

New Zealand

H.Blair@massey.ac.nz

Ming-Jun Liu

China

xjlmj2004@aliyun.com

Zhi-Qiang Shen

China

bzshenzq@163.com

Feng Wang

China

caeet@njau.edu.cn

Li-Xin Du

China

lxdu@263.net

Jian-Lin Han

Kenya

H.JIANLIN@CGIAR.ORG

Jin-Quan Li

China

lijinquan_nd@126.com

Protected Areas

Yan XIE *

China

xieyan@ioz.ac.cn

John MacKinnon*

UK

arcbc_jrm@hotmail.com

Zhongyan XIE

China

cbmief@163.com

Zhihong LI

China

cbslzh@163.com

Ding Wang

China

wangd@ihb.ac.cn

Jiang Feng

China


Jeff McNeely

USA

jam@iucn.org

Anthony D. Barnosky

USA

barnosky@berkeley.edu

Elizabeth Hadly

USA

hadly@stanford.edu

 * Coordinators

 

Procedure for establishing a new group

If you are not an existing member, please prepare a proposal for your new group, including the rationale and its objectives. The proposal is also encouraged to include the activities and a working plan.

 

Each working group should consist of 10-15 scientists with a reasonable diversity, i.e. less than 50% from just one country and young scientists (with PhD degree, and < 45 yrs old) ideally about 50%. Each group should have one or two coordinators.

 

Submit your proposal to Mr Chunxu Han, Secretary General, ISZS, at iszs2@ioz.ac.cn. The ISZS EC will review your proposal. Once it is approved, your proposal will be listed on the ISZS website.

 

Procedures for joining an existing working group

If you want to join an existing working group, please contact the coordinators of the working group and cc the message to Mr Chunxu Han, Secretary General, ISZS, at iszs2@ioz.ac.cn. If you are accepted by the working group coordinators, your inforamtion will be added to the member list of that group.


    Related

    Return>>

    Mobile phone / pc